I think my silkie is dying! Help!

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by bamitsbrittany, Oct 14, 2013.

1. bamitsbrittany

bamitsbrittany Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 22, 2013
    I have my first REAL silkie and I think she is going to die. She is lethargic and her poop is a little runny. She would eat or drink so I put mashed up food and water in a syringe and fed her some that way. She did swallow. One eye is **** and the other is open most of the time. When I found her she was just laying in the dirt face down wings open. She does look like her friend beat her up because feathers are missing from her neck. She is also hanging her head when I hold her. Idk what to do. I am new to chickens all together.

2. bamitsbrittany

Mar 22, 2013
    She wouldnt* eat or drink. She is also about 4 months old.

3. EggresiveAli

EggresiveAli Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 3, 2013
    Scotland
    Keep her warm

4. BantamLover21

BantamLover21 Overrun With Chickens

Jul 24, 2013
    Does her eye look as though an animal (other chicken, predator, etc.) destroyed it, or is it just swollen shut/scabby? Her lack of interest in feed and water could be because she has been injured, either externally and/or internally by an attack. I'd keep her in a warm, clean place away from any other chickens. Continue getting her to eat and drink; perhaps put some vitamins/electrolytes in her water to boost her strength. Given some rest, she may recover, though she'll be missing an eye.