I want Silkies chickens next Spring.Help?

Discussion in 'Pictures & Stories of My Chickens' started by Cluckcluck1215, Dec 26, 2016.

1. Hello everyone!I have been keeping chickens for 4-5 years now.I have kept Bantams, A golden Comets, EEs, SLWs, and many more but never silkies.And next year(if mom will let me)i REALLY want to get some Silkies.But, my thing is, I need to make a sepret run and house for them.I was thinking of having a tall(6-7 feet)Enclosed all the way around run with a roof.Is this good?The roof so the pen stays dry when it rains so it doesn't get muddy.And I know Silkies aren't as good as protecting themselfs with all there fluff, so that's why the enclosed run.Is this good?And wich is better for bedding?Hay/Straw, or Shavings?Also, how many colors of Silkies are there?And one last thing, is My Pet Chicken good with shipping chicks?1-10 how good are they?

2. chippy99th

chippy99th Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 17, 2016
    Arizona
    First of all, the run sounds good. A couple suggestions. Silkies don't fly much (at least, mine don't) so unless you are particularly tall and want to go inside, your run doesn't have to be that tall. Mine is maybe 4 feet tall. The walls can be wire mesh but for shelter from the weather, I'd make an actual little house they can go in. Silkies are very sensitive to wet and cold and do not do well in the rain. I'd suggest something like this:

[​IMG]

Unless you live somewhere with very mild weather. Even then, you'll want to be careful. I live in Arizona and it almost never rains here, so mine just have a roof and part of the sides enclosed with wood, but when it does rain I cover my silkies' entire small coop with plastic tarps, and on the coldest winter nights they get a heat lamp as well.

Keeping them safe fro predators is definitely important, good job doing your research!