I want some chicks

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by bwinn01, Jul 13, 2010.

1. bwinn01

bwinn01 Out Of The Brooder

Apr 28, 2010
    I am new to this chicken game. One of my hens has laid 2 eggs, I want to have some chicks, so do I just leave the eggs there and she will sit on them to hatch? Will she lay for a few days before she begins sitting on them? If she lays one egg a day, will the chicks hatch one each day or will they all hatch at about the same time. I know nothing about this.

2. StormyMoon

StormyMoon Chillin' With My Peeps

May 1, 2010
    Alvarado, TX
    Quote:Do you have a rooster you didn't mention anything about a rooster....what are your chances of them being fertile ?
    I think they save up eggs and then sit on them. I am new to this too I was given 2 hens that are already sitting on eggs......
    Good luck!

Last edited: Jul 13, 2010
  3. dsqard

dsqard Crazy "L" Farms

Jun 11, 2010
    York PA
    [​IMG] bwinn01 I would suggest reading a lot of posts on rasing chicks. There is so much to understand before you start leaving the eggs with the hen. First important question you would need to answer is if you have a rooster. LOL

4. gryeyes

gryeyes Covered in Pet Hair & Feathers

The NEXT most important thing is "do you have a broody hen?" Not all hens - as a matter of fact, not very many nowadays from most breeds - go broody. Certain breeds are more prone to it than others. Most production hens have had the broodiness bred out of them, because it cuts down on the egg production. Hens do not lay after they start their clutch of eggs... it takes 21 days for chicken eggs to hatch, and then the mother hen won't lay for another few weeks while she's raising her chicks. Hence the practice of breeding broodiness out of many chicken breeds, especially those designated soley as layers.

If you don't have a broody hen, your chances of hatching chicks are nil, unless you use an incubator.

5. orionburn