I want to be a chicken mom….

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by The old hen, Feb 9, 2014.

1. The old hen

The old hen New Egg

Feb 9, 2014
    I am new to the idea of raising my own chickens, but cannot wait to get started. I am 59, single, retired and live alone. I have numerous questions before starting my flock.
    1. How many chickens should a single woman who loves to cook and bake start with?
    2. How big of a coop should I get?
    3. What do I do when I leave town for a few days?
    4. How do I know what color eggs different breeds lay?
    5. What breeds are best egg layers?
    6. I am in Poulsbo, Washington. When would be the best time to get started?
    7. Should I start with grown chickens or babies?

Thanks so very much!
    The old Hen!

2. foreverlearning

foreverlearning Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 4, 2013
    [​IMG] Glad you joined us!

1. How many chickens should a single woman who loves to cook and bake start with?
    Hens take breaks for reduced daylight hours, molting, brooding, and regular breaks between laying. Regular breaks between laying vary between breed, production is normally 1-2 days break a week and some breeds like game birds are 2-3 days between eggs. Start with the number of eggs you plan to use a day and double it to count for the breaks. Then add 5 to that number because you are bound to have some roosters in there. That would be the number of girls you want. In peak season this number will give you more then enough eggs, and in low season (winter) you will still have enough to get by. There are tricks to storing extra eggs if you need to. One of them is to crack open the egg into an ice tray and when frozen put the "egg cubes" in a bag in the freezer for quick measuring and use.
    2. How big of a coop should I get?