1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

I want to start a veggie garden but I have never done it before..help?

Discussion in 'Random Ramblings' started by Dar, Sep 25, 2011.

1. Dar

Dar Overrun With Chickens

Jul 31, 2008
    I have a fair chunk of land that I can use for a veggie garden... but my problem is I have never done this before...

how is the best way to start?

Right now the proposed garden area has grass and weeds. I will be renting a rototiller to turn it up and I will be tossing the top layer of sod over the fence.

How do I stop the regrowth of the grass and weeds? I know the root system goes down a fair ways and skimming off the grass layer will just open the earth..

I will be mixing in with the rototiller old chicken bedding that has been aging for 2+ years along with some fresher stuff.

I want to grow:
    potatoes
    beets
    carrots
    squash (various types)
    garlic
    onions
    asparagus**
    tomatoes
    peppers.. last time I tried to grow these they were all wonky and mis-shaped
    beans

I dont know if I should do different plots.. so the squash put in a 5'X5' area because I know it will spread and invade other areas but if I give it, its own little plot away from everything else it wont push other things out.

I have heard that if you plant onions and garlic around the perimeter that it will deter the bunnies.. is this true?

**I know asparagus take more then one season to grow. I have an area thats between my two dining room windows thats elevated and out of the way

what tips and tricks can you offer a beginner?.. am I going to big to soon?

2. KenK

KenK Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 23, 2011
    Georgia