I want to start raising ducks.....

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by cmferrante, Aug 8, 2013.

1. cmferrante

cmferrante Out Of The Brooder

Aug 7, 2013
    I want to start out with saying, I am a new manager on an organic farm in Western Mass. We specialty grow for some of the local upscale restaurants and are looking to expand to Duck Egg, and possibly meat production.

OK, I'm a new member here, did some searching around and talked to another farmer friend that raises ducks. I'm trying to verify some of the info so I can get things in motion.

My plan is to use some pasture land on the farm to pasture raise some chickens and ducks. I was told, Indian Runners would suit me better for eggs as they require less water. But maybe not for meat. I have a hose I can run out there and a plastic kiddy pool we used for our last try at runners....as it turns out, preditors love duck as much as humans...we were down to 3 ducks before random duck eggs would show up....then one night...there were none. So, My plan of course would be to setup an area in the pasture with electric fencing, I have an extra 25 mile solar charger that will be used for this project. I like the style of coop I've seen on the forum for chickens, maybe ducks too...with the framed out chicken wire run hooked to the coop. I would use the charged fence around the whole thing. the rolling coop i have is built onto a landscaping trailer. It looks like a little barn. I am able to move them around every day or 2..or more...so I'm looking for suggestions. Size of run? How big would the coop area have to be for 2 dozen ducks? I'm looking to get 10ish dozen a week for now. I would also like them to breed and multiply....it is a farm and if it goes well I can expand this a LOT.

Meat ducks....does anyone here raise them for this purpose and would be willing to give me any pointers? suggestions? breeding tips?

2. Ozzy Lorp

Ozzy Lorp New Egg

Jan 28, 2013