Ideal chicks(ducks and geese) came this morning!!(lots of pictures)

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by GockeyEgg, Feb 29, 2008.

1. GockeyEgg

GockeyEgg Out Of The Brooder

Jan 10, 2008
    PA
    Our order from Ideal arrived this morning. We had 4 that were DOA, and one more that never pepped up and died a few hours later. We lost a blue silkie, all 3 crele OEGB and I think a Blue Mille Fleur OEGB. We have 20 chicks, 3 runner ducks and 2 geese alive now that are doing fantastically. They are eating, drinking, pooing, playing, and sleeping.

Now, what you really came for, the pictures. I believe I have everything identified but please feel free to speak up if you see that I made a mistake. This is my first time trying this out...

1. The Naked Necks(pullets), these remind us of old ladies that wear fur coats and hats.
    [​IMG]

2. The Barnevelders(pullets)
    [​IMG]

3. The Cream Brabanters(pullets)
    [​IMG]

4. The Blue Andalusians(pullets), these 2 are so sweet.
    [​IMG]

5.3 Tiny Banties(straight run) I believe the one on the left and the one right behind it are the Porcelain Dutch, and the one on the right is the Blue Mille Fleur. That little one in the front left is the smallest in the whole bunch and very nice, the one in the front right is the meanest one. That one was even trying to take on the geese. HA!
    [​IMG]

6. 3 Black Runner Ducks(straight run)
    [​IMG]

7. 2 Geese(straight run), any guesses on what these might grow up to be? These 2 are way too funny. I just love how big and clumsy they are. They've really stolen the spotlight. I am so glad we got them.
    [​IMG]

8. 5 Evil Silkies(straight run), 2 Grey, 2 Red and 1 Black. That little black one is the noisiest little thing in the whole bunch. I think he is trying to send us secret messages.
    [​IMG]

Back to playing with the foofy fluffies!

ETA-I totally forgot to take a picture of the gold sex-links. Buggar. I will have to do that tomorrow, it is too dark to do it now.