"Ideal" composition of a breeding flock?

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by WesleyBeal, Mar 20, 2017.

1. WesleyBeal

WesleyBeal Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 28, 2016
    Douglas County, Minnesota
    Apologies if this topic has been discussed elsewhere - my searches weren't returning the answers I was looking for.

The question in the title of my post I realize could have hundreds of different answers based on what a person was trying to do, so specific to me, I am:

+keeping no more than 30 birds over winter
    +breeding long term for utility, which for me means good egg production, especially over winter, winter hardiness, excellent foragers, good longevity, good predator avoidance (behavior and coloring), self-sustaining (broody enough to be able to hatch and rear new chicks).

Those are a lot of characteristics to breed for: I look at this as a 30 year hobby. I'm just starting out, currently have 22 hens and 2 roosters, and am figuring out what to add to my flock this spring.

If I breed any of my current flock this spring, it will be to learn the process. I currently have 3 Wyandotte hens, 3 Plymouth Rock hens, 16 Orpington hens, 1 Plymouth Rock rooster, and 1 Orpington rooster.

My dilemma right now is figuring out what to add to my flock. I plan to reduce my current hen population by 6, leaving room to add 12 more birds, after fall culling, for the winter.

And finally, my current specific question: how many of those 12 I keep should be roosters??

It would be easy, management wise, if none of them were, but I worry that will damage my ability to have diverse enough genes down the road. The 2 current roosters are maturing, which makes for much happier hens (all my current birds are 40 weeks old right now). I worry about keeping an extra cockeral this fall, having 3 roosters to 27 hens for the winter.

On the other hand, I worry about not having the best roosters to mate next year.