ideas for brooder

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by nikki1, Oct 22, 2011.

1. nikki1

nikki1 Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 16, 2011
    Eatonville, WA
    Hi!

I'm a chickenless newbie looking forward to the spring when I can build my coop and buy my chicks. This winter is for impatient planning! We are looking at all the resources for making our coop predator proof...Going with sort of a Fort Knox motif...but the brooder is an issue.

My problem is that:

1. Yeah, yeah, I know all about chicken math, but still I'm thinking I won't need a brooder every day of the week, so I don't want to go all fancy and expensive on it.

2. I have 2 cats that would see the little fluffies as chicken nuggets. Cats have their litter boxes in the garage with a kitty door. Could probably utilize the indoor laundry room with the door closed, but I worry about the kids accidentally leaving the door open. Also, the laundry room is also the pantry, which might be a little less than hygeinic.

My idea is this. Take a nice, deep Rubbermaid tub. Cut the center out of the lid, and cover it securely with heavy wire mesh, small enough to keep out paws. Get a light in there somehow. Would this be adequate? Would it work? Any ideas of how I could stick the mesh to the lid frame?

Is there a cat-owning chicken lover out there that can help me?

As an aside, I'm new to the site and something of a techno-idiot. Between the subject line and the smiley are some buttons. Even I understand "img", "quote" and "word link," but what on earth are B, I, and U?

[It is more comfortable to be insane and know it, than to be sane and have one's doubts.]

2. Thomas423

Thomas423 Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 21, 2009
    Port Deposit, MD
    B, I, and U are bold, italics, and underline. [​IMG]

3. Barred Babies

Barred Babies Red Roof Farms

Sep 20, 2009
    Pride, La.