Ideas for building a coop .

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by MickInOhio, Feb 24, 2014.

1. MickInOhio

MickInOhio Just Hatched

Feb 21, 2014
    Guernsey County , Ohio
    I am a rookie at building things , but have the land, tools , energy and time to build. We want to start raising some chickens, maybe start with 6 for the purpose of eggs . No specific breed in mind but we have 2 small grandchildren that will be interacting with them eventually.

I would rather build too big than too small as we are not sure enough of our skill set to let them free range . I don't want to see them run off or get injured .

We went to our local Tractor Supply and was unimpressed with employee knowledge on this subject and materials they offer .

I've seen some great looking coops here on this site and just want to pick the brains of you all here.

Thanks in advance ,

Mick

2. TheEggCollecter

TheEggCollecter Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 16, 2014
    Massachusettes
    First, build your coop on somewhat low land, the top of a hill is too exposed to winds and the foot of a hill can lead to drainage problems. The coop should be built large enough so that there is 3 square feet per bird on the coop. For six birds a eighteen square foot coop will do. There should ne nestboxes. One to every three or four hens. Next, a roost should be built raised off the ground. Allow eight inches of roost space per hen. You will want to have south facing windows to keep it warm in winter. Also, a ventilation window should be belt. Electricity is not necessary but can definitely help. If you have any other questions let me know I think I covered the important things.

1 person likes this.
  3. Sseckel

Sseckel Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 20, 2013
    Homestead, IA