1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Ideas on getting a feeder and water system

Discussion in 'Feeding & Watering Your Flock' started by bluefrog87, Jan 26, 2014.

1. bluefrog87

bluefrog87 Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 17, 2013
    Dallas, Tx
    I hear a common theme to bad feeders and water systems. "I got it at Tractor Supply Company." They are not a bad store but I see a theme. So I am trying to avoid that. I am either looking for simple build items that don't take up much space and/or decent internet item. I have some experience with chickens but these are my first personal ones. I am using then for my degree in animal science and the eggs. If this all doesn't work out, I'm just going to have stew.

So I seek the help of the internet. My flock will be buff orpington trio in a 4x4 ark tractor coop

Water:

I am thinking of a double nipple system for the summer which is 10 months out of the year. and then going to the heated bucket water system which just naturally has the suck of changing dirty water.

I like the nipple systems because it seems to drastically reduce disease and increase the taste. Plus no messy water. But winterizing it sucks and for just for short periods.... so much insulation and stuff... everywhere (the chicken's turn into the birds from Hitchcock with it in my mind)... It really isn't worth it to me.

Food: