Ideas on Stocking Chicken Medicine Cabinet?

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by AuroraSprings, Mar 1, 2012.

1. AuroraSprings

AuroraSprings Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 18, 2009
    Atlanta, GA
    I'm new to chickens and I know when I had goats there were NUMEROUS lists of "must-haves" for medicine cabinets. But, I haven't seen any for chickens. Spill, you gurus of chickendom.

(Thanks!)

2. Imp

Imp All things share the same breath- Chief Seattle

3. galanie

galanie Treat Dispenser No More

Aug 20, 2010
    Colmesneil,TX
    Most of the "gurus of chickendom" dont' even have medicine cabinets for their chickens. Or only have a few things like some BluKote and wormer. For myself, I only get what I need when I need it for them. I've only 2 years experience but so far all I've ever needed was some triple antibiotic cream. And I just used what I use on myself lol.

4. dawg53

dawg53 Humble

Nov 27, 2008
    Jacksonville, Florida
    I have a alot of medicines and stuff I've NEVER used, a shelfload. I replace it whenever the expiration date rolls around. If I decide to get rid of the meds and stuff I never use...that will be the moment I'll truly need it. It would happen on a Sunday or holiday when everything shuts down around here too. That would be my luck.

5. Yoke

Yoke Out Of The Brooder

Feb 18, 2012
    How do you plan to manage your flock? Are you going to do any vaccinations?

For the price of 10 syringes at CVS, or 6 at TSC, you can get a box of 100 online.

I purchased some syringes along with some other general first aid items for the family. They also had surgical gloves cheap. Basically, with the savings on other items, I got the syringes for free.

. . . . and If I decide to become a I.V. drug addict, I'm set to go. LOL.

6. galanie

galanie Treat Dispenser No More

Aug 20, 2010
    Colmesneil,TX