If hens eat layer pellets, what do roosters eat?

Discussion in 'Feeding & Watering Your Flock' started by Robin'sBrood, Sep 11, 2008.

1. Robin'sBrood

Robin'sBrood Flock Mistress

May 8, 2008
    North Carolina
    My 62 year old uncle who has always raised chickens said he keeps his on 15% grower/finisher forever and they lay nice eggs. I feed my chickens the same food he feeds his, DuMor brand. So, if I were to switch my 3 girls to 16% layer, what is my 1 boy supposed to eat - the same thing? Anyone else keep their chickens on grower/finisher forever?

Don't laugh, I'm still new to the whole chicken thing. [​IMG]

2. speckledhen

speckledhen Intentional Solitude Premium Member

Although roosters do not need all that calcium that hens do, most people just feed the roosters with the hens. Some do keep their flock on grower and offer oyster shell on the side for calcium. Seems to work, as long as all the hens eat the shell.

3. I just pour the Pellets in the feeder and he eats what he wants, but when they free range he probably gets enough bugs, also I give them some bread every day for a treet, he'sfat and sassy so Ithink he gets enough to eat. Marrie

4. WestKnollAmy

WestKnollAmy The Crazy Chicken Lady

Apr 22, 2008
    upstate SC
    He can eat what the hens eat but don't expect him to lay an egg. It just won't happen.[​IMG]

5. spook

spook Chillin' With My Peeps

Quote:[​IMG] Way to funny! [​IMG]

I have always fed mine along with the hens. I cannot imagine keeping him separate just to feed. [​IMG]
    I also had a guy tell me recently to never feed layer feed. "It has to many hormones in it". I have never heard this one before. I feed Layena, it contains calcium and vitemans.

6. Katy

Katy Flock Mistress