If my hens don't start laying, into the pot they'll go!

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by mlmaxson, Jan 25, 2010.

1. mlmaxson

mlmaxson Out Of The Brooder

Dec 31, 2009
    Gurley
    Hey everyone! I'm new to BYC and am newer to chickens than I thought. I had them growing up, but it's been a few years, am finally out on my own, married, starting my little zoo, and am lost and confused not having good old mom around all the time to help me out.

I have recently purchased 4 hens from a guy at a trade day. I was told they were about a year and a half old and had been laying. After posting pics on BYC, I think that they are gameing crosses (very pretty I may add!). My dilemma is that my husband did not want me to get more animals, as we already have dogs, cats, and rabbits, but I promised him these would be different. These girls would earn their keep! Two months later, they aren't. Since I bought them already grown, ready to lay, they are not only NOT earning their keep, but aren't even friendly so I can't use the excuse "but they really like us honey!" like I have most of the other animals.

HELP ME HELP THEM TO START LAYING!!