I'm 0 for 15 on chickies

aladatrot

Songster
11 Years
Apr 24, 2008
LaPorte
Well, my "final four" of my original 15 chickies made it through the hurricane, but failed to make it through the cooler nights afterward with no electricity to power their lamp. Therefore, I am feeling much of a failure at day old chicks. There are some chickies at the feed store that are bigger chicks, and I want some but I don't want to kill them. We still have no power, but the chicks are not currently under lights at the feed store. Temps here are getting down into the upper 50's at night and 88 or 90 daytime with little to no humidity (I know - I had to check to make sure I was still living in Houston!). My own coop is an open design with a chickie coop inside it made of chicken wire at ground level. Is this too extreme for Buff Orpington chicks that are tennis ball sized?
Thanks
M

I'm no expert, but I would think they are a little too small still. How old does the feed store say they are?

Back in the days of no power people still hatched and raised chicks. Outdoors even. But they used those best of all incubator/brooder setups- broody hens.

How long do you think you will be without power?

How is the feedstore managing it. Do they have a generator going?

Last edited:
I'd think that would be too cold for baseball-sized chicks... I waited until mine were 4 weeks old for those temps (and two-three times that size).
Is there a place you could put them indoors? Like -- keep them in the coop when it's warm outside during the day, and put them in the bathtub (or plastic tub) at night, maybe with a blanket over/around much of it to keep in the heat?
Buff Orps are the sweetest birds ever. Lucky that your feed store has them!!

Wow, sorry to hear about your chicks. Could you keep a fire going and heat up rocks to put in with them? It might be a pain in the but for a short while but it may keep them alive for a couple of days till you get power.