I'm a eggcited newbie and thought I'd share! Opinions!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by 9281022, Apr 2, 2016.

1. 9281022

9281022 Out Of The Brooder

Mar 31, 2016
    Ohio
    Hi everyone! I will become an official chicken mom on April 18th! I also have an order for April 20th as well.
    I am so eggcited I can hardly stand myself!!
    Last night my boys put my first coop together and I made an addition for my recently built brooder. What do you guys think?

For their breezeway I still have to fill in the gaps on the side, I did not want to permanently affix the breezeway so that I can easily break it down and store it. Also, I am going to move the dowel that has their swinging roost down to the other side of the grey tote. Thinking I will keep the blue tote heated and the grey one will be food, water and play!

Being as the coop is sitting in the garage I was toying with using that as their brooder! If I do once it warms up outside I have to paint the coop, of course I'd have to transfer them to the totes for that. Would they adjust? I am thinking the coop will be in the garage for the 16 weeks it will take them to get ready to go outside. Plus we are building them a huge run that will encase the coop.

I wanted to use legs bands, so I came up with this idea. Duct tape! I folded it over to make it thin & super strong, I left them long so that I would have an easier time adjusting them to their little legs, then I will take a thin piece (probably two to make it strong) to close up the back slit!

What is everyone's opinions?

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. guineapeeps

guineapeeps Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 27, 2016
    In Limbo