Im a newb need your opinion on weather my chickens are safe or not Pics provided.

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by Photoman509, Jul 26, 2013.

1. Photoman509

Photoman509 Out Of The Brooder

Jul 25, 2013
    Hello,
    My name is Lance this is my 2nd year raising Hens unfortunatly my first flock were murdered by a stray pitbull that got in my yard. At that time I was letting them free range in my yard and would lock them up in their coop at night. This Year my Chicks are just over 3 months old and I built them a 4 1/2 foot tall Pin and built an extension to the small coop I used last year. I am anticipating the eggs but these are my pets I love them like family and they love me, My fiance laughs at how they react to me as opposed to other people even her the listen to me they follow me around I love it My daughter is 9 and has helped me tend to them both years we were all heartbroken last year and I just want to see what all of you who are more experienced think. By the way our bedroom window is right above there coop so we can hopefully hear if anything unusual is going on in there. Thanks for your time, Lance aka Photoman509 heres a link to the pics

https://www.backyardchickens.com/g/a/6521222/default

2. Amanda941

Amanda941 New Egg

Jul 26, 2013
    Mableton, GA
    Hey Lance,

I'm sorry to hear about what happened to your first flock. These girls really do become family. After having them around for a while it becomes difficult to remember life without them. I'm glad you kept with it and started a new chicken family.

I've had a backyard flock for the past twelve years or so, and I can tell you that I've experienced everything from chicken diseases to pests, even predators. I have even lost two of my girls to my own dogs due to design flaws in my coop design.