I'm a Newbie Alright!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by SuziQ18, Feb 17, 2017.

1. SuziQ18

SuziQ18 Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 17, 2017
    Pacoima, CA
    My Coop
    Been wanting a chicken coop for a very long time. Decided this year is the year. Starting with 4 egg-layers that I have already named, Henrietta, Marigold, Chik-Fil-A, and Hazel. Looking for inexpensive plans now for a coop to house them when I get these lovelies! Looking forward to reading all of your great experience!!

2. PD-Riverman

PD-Riverman Overrun With Chickens

Jan 14, 2012
    Conway SC
    You like free?? I have build close 10 using free pallets, But you probably want something fancier?

3. drumstick diva

drumstick diva Still crazy after all these years. Premium Member

Aug 26, 2009
    Out to pasture
    Have you checked out the coops section? People often repurpose materials to build a coop or trick out a shed, or even LARGE dog house etc. Often Craig's list has low cost or even free coops that people are dumping because they didn't like having chickens.

4. Pork Pie Ken

Pork Pie Ken Monkey Business Premium Member

Jan 30, 2015
    Africa - near the equator
    Hello and welcome to BYC - thanks for joining us. As D/Diva mentions, the Coops section should give you some inspiration for your plans.

You'll find lots of info in the Learning Centre - https://www.backyardchickens.com/atype/1/Learning_Center and if you have a specific topic in mind, just type it in the search box - there's a wealth of information on past and present threads.

You may wish to consider joining your state thread as it will put you in touch with other BYC members in your area - https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/270925/find-your-states-thread#post_3239224

All the best
    CT

5. N F C

N F C Home in WY Premium Member

Dec 12, 2013
    Wyoming
    [​IMG]