1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

I'm a newbie, please help!

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by SoCal-chick, Feb 17, 2007.

1. SoCal-chick

SoCal-chick Out Of The Brooder

Feb 17, 2007
    San Diego
    We were just given 9 Rhode Island Reds. They are 8 weeks old so we don't know their sexes. We need advice on feeding and coup design. We live in San Diego CA. Warm summers, mild winters, with some frosty nights. As far as coup designs, we're thinking of a raised floor (3 ft.) with wire mesh versus wood. Your thoughts would be welcome, thanks.

2. coolchange

coolchange Out Of The Brooder

Jan 26, 2007
    Hello I am new to raising chickens. I live in Jacksonville, FL and I have 4 Rhode Island Reds and built a 4' x 8' pen with a coop that is about 2 feet off the ground. The back of the coop opens so I can get eggs and clean it out. I think our climate here is similar to yours in San Diego. I tried to put pictures on the post but was not able to figure out how to do it. I would be glad to email you some pictures if you would like.
    Good luck!!

3. BigR

BigR Out Of The Brooder

Feb 4, 2007
    Lake County Fl.
    Hi so-cal, There are so many different types of coops it could make your head spin. We've had chikens for just a short time but have already gone from one small pen to a large 10x20 pen with runs on each end.
    If I could do it all again I would have started with the larger one. Do it right the first time.
    But that's just me.

There is a section on this forum called coop design. Plenty of good choices....

Good Luck............

4. allen wranch

allen wranch Overrun With Chickens Premium Member

Jan 11, 2007
    San Marcos, TX