1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

I'm a Peace Corps volunteer

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Hasukako, Jun 13, 2016.

1. Hasukako

Hasukako New Egg

Jun 12, 2016
    Hey all,

My name is Danny. I'm a volunteer in Panama. I live in a beautiful seaside farming village in the northwestern part of the country. Ever since arriving here, I knew that I wanted the experience of raising some egg-laying hens. Now I finally found some (even though one might be a rooster), and we are living happily ever after for the remainder of my service here (a little over a year left).

So I'm completely new to chickens, but I am doing a good job of meeting their basic needs: dry, warm shelter, sunlight, water and space. I have three golden comets, and they all have names from the Ngäbe (no-bay) language. The one with the most red on her is yulu, which means mahogany. The one with the most white is named Kenmu, which means fish hawk. And the one in-between is named kiko, which is "to fly" in the past tense. My username means "a resting place."

So there it is. I also posted in the sexing forum to see if Kenmu is a rooster or not. Additionally, I post weekly about my Peace Corps experience at isthmus2isthmus.wordpress.com.

Hope to learn a lot!

2. Pork Pie Ken

Pork Pie Ken Monkey Business Premium Member

Jan 30, 2015
    Africa - near the equator
    Hi Danny and welcome to BYC - glad that you have joined us.

You'll find lots of info in the Learning Centre
    https://www.backyardchickens.com/atype/1/Learning_Center, and if you have a specific topic in mind, just type it in the search box - there's a wealth of information on past and present threads.

All the best
    CT

3. TwoCrows

TwoCrows Show me the way old friend... Staff Member

Mar 21, 2011