IM AT MY WITS END WITH MY SHOWGIRL WHO HAS "WRY NECK"

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by richkay, Feb 19, 2015.

1. richkay

richkay New Egg

Oct 17, 2014
    I'm a newbie as a chicken owner. I bought my first Bantam Showgirl Silkie hen about a month ago. I purchased a very expensive, but cheaply made, chicken coop online, painted it all pretty, made numerous alterations and reinforcements to the coop to make it safe and predator proof, built a chicken run and read every single article that has ever been written about chicken care and chicken health to make sure I was fully prepared. Then I purchased a couple of standard hens about eight or ten weeks old as companions to my Showgirl for egg laying. I made sure they were docile breeds and about the same age as my showgirl so they'd grow up together and get along. I got a ten week old golden sex link and a longhorn (I think). I put the showgirl and the two standards together in the coop and all was blissful and perfect in chickenland . . . .for about a week. Then, one morning I noticed something weird was going on with my Showgirl. At first, I noticed a slight discharge of water from her vent and she was dropping her head a lot. I thought maybe she had some kind of infection so I separated her from the other two and administered a broad spectrum avian antibiotic and put her under a heating lamp. Then the vent dried up but the head dropping got worse. She was tucking and twisting her head under her belly and it was horrible to watch. I went online and started to do some research and discovered that my Showgirl was exhibiting what appeared to be consistent with Wry Neck disease. Now, I have read every single article there is on the subject of Wry Neck and its symptoms and treatments so I'm past the basics. She is currently eating and drinking and pooping. In addition to the basic chicken feed, I've been combining a high quality dry egg food that I feed my finches, or a boiled yolk ma