I'm brand new at this and need help with our baby chicks!

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by dreamerofchickens, Sep 16, 2011.

1. dreamerofchickens

dreamerofchickens New Egg

Sep 16, 2011
    I've wanted chickens my whole life and we finally came home with 4 baby Rhode Island Reds tonight. We have them in a brooder with pine shavings, food, and water. We also bought a lamp, but I have many questions.
    How long do I leave the lamp on? Is there a schedule? I am guessing they are less than 2 weeks old. Does the lamp stay on all the time or just every few hours?

2. chickee

chickee Chillin' With My Peeps

Quote:They need a heat lamp around the clock until they are fully feathered. New chicks need a temperature of 95 degrees and you decrease that temperature by 5 degrees each week until your chicks have all their feathers. I give them access to a heat lamp until they are much older if the weather is cold.
    Have fun with your chicks! [​IMG]

3. mikecnorthwest

mikecnorthwest Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 27, 2009
    Vancouver, WA
    My Coop
    Leave it on all the time so they can stay warm. At 2 weeks an air temp of about 90-95 would be good and then you can reduce it a little bit each week as they get bigger and feather out. Really all you need to do is make sure they have food, water, and warmth. I put a little bit of grit on top of the food. Not much, just a smattering every couple of days. It's good to handle them and socialize with them. Your chicks will grow in spite of you so just relax and enjoy. They grow so quickly....

4. dreamerofchickens

dreamerofchickens New Egg

Sep 16, 2011
    Thanks, I have the lamp on them--I don't have a thermometer, can I get them too hot? I don't want to cook them! Gosh, I feel like I felt when I brought my first child home from the hospital. So many worries about being able to keep the little ones alive!

5. Beekissed

Beekissed True BYC Addict