I'm expecting a chick to hatch in a couple weeks, how do I care for it when it hatches?

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by mommachillroy, Oct 23, 2014.

1. mommachillroy

mommachillroy Out Of The Brooder

Aug 6, 2014
    I have a silkie who won't leave an egg she's laid so I'm expecting a chick in a couple weeks. I've never cared for a new chick before, do I need to put it under a heat lamp? I live in the central valley of California so it's pretty warm right now. Will my hen do all the work or do I need to do anything??

2. sunflour

sunflour Flock Master Premium Member Project Manager

Jan 10, 2013
    Macon,GA
    I have no experience with hatching, but it would seem unusual for a chicken to try and hatch just one egg? Are you sure her egg is fertile, do you have a roo or could she just be broody, pullets/hens can sit eggs even if they have no fertilization.

If you do have a hatchling coming, I would suggest reading in the Learning Center. There are a number of topics with the specifics you will need to know.

Whether you let momma brood a chick or move it to a controlled brooder box depends on your situation. Left with mom, you will need to separate them from rest of flock or others will kill the chick.

1 person likes this.
  3. sunflour

sunflour Flock Master Premium Member Project Manager

Jan 10, 2013
    Macon,GA
    You don't necessarily have to build a separate coop if your coop is large enough to place a brooder box in there? There are a lot of threads and posts showing what others have done. Like using a dog crate to separate mom and baby from flock. There's also lots of discussions on how to manage protecting babies from the general flock and how to introduce them.

Your thread is still new and likely you'll get some experienced advice on next steps. If you don't, then repost individual questions to get pointed answers.