I'm finally ready to be a chicken mama!!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by newchickie2, Feb 18, 2013.

1. newchickie2

newchickie2 Out Of The Brooder

Feb 18, 2013
    Maricopa, Arizona
    My name is Anne and I live in the Phoenix area in Arizona. I'm an elementary school teacher with two lovable English Bulldogs. I've been a vegetarian for about 4 years and as I was researching farm animals over the last few years to find out how amazing they are as creatures rather than dinner - I fell in love with chickens (don't worry I will not bash any meat-eaters - I was too most of my life). To learn that they are intelligent, loving and affectionate, captured my interest and heart. I have wanted to raise chickens for years. Today, at my local Pet Club there were baby chicks for sale. I am in LOVE. After many questions from me to the young sales associate, I decided to go home and prepare before making the purchase. I only want two. They are very young and there are two different breeds. The Americanus and something with Red in the name. The Americanus were so beautiful I didn't really pay attention to the others but from the forum it looks like they are not very friendly. I would hope mine will be friendly eventually but I do understand it is up to the individual. What if I purchase one of each? I am planning on making my purchase tomorrow after school. Any advice would be GREATLY appreciated.

I would like to attempt to build my own coop over the next few weeks for the yard. I have never built anything before but I have a hammer and a brain... I am hoping with some wood I can figure something out. I'll definitely be needing advice for that as well hah!

Thanks!

2. rachlore

rachlore Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 24, 2012
    Southern US