I'm getting frustrated - Not a good chicken monthish

Discussion in 'Pictures & Stories of My Chickens' started by ASweetHeart, Dec 2, 2011.

1. ASweetHeart

ASweetHeart Out Of The Brooder

Oct 3, 2011
    I'm still relatively new to the whole having chickens thing. I really like them, but I'm not having a lot of luck recently. I'm getting really frustrated and discouraged.

At the end of Oct/begining of Nov 7 or 8 of my chickens went MIA, some we were really attached to. I caught a rat, posssum, and raccoon. I've critter-proofed my coop since & barricade the chickens at night. No dissappearances since.

I lost power for awhile during the last few days of hatch at begining of Nov. 6 of my 9 NN Turken egglings didn't survive.

Last week an animal got into my friend's (she's new to chickens, too) pen. Slaughtered 21 of her 28 chickens. Her mom called her at work, she txted me, I went over and disposed of the remains and fixed her pen/coop to help make the loss less devestating to her. Was not easy for me to do - scary!!

End of the week I put my 3 little NN turkens in with chicks of similar size. They seemed to do ok for about 24 hours. When I went to check on them for the night, the back of 1 of the NN's head was eaten down to the skull, and it was still alive at the time.

A few nights ago I went to barricade my chickens for the night, I found 1 that I really liked dead and I'm not sure why.

I traded a box of alot of stuff here for some eggs. 6 were packed well in foam. 12 were packed in a carton surrounded by shredded paper. 6 of those 12 were completely smashed. The eggs have been in my bator since last Saturday night, I know it's still early but I only see any development in 1 of remaining eggs. Makes me want to cry.

I've only gotten about a dozen eggs from my birds since starting my chicken venture. That one chicken that layed was one that went MIA end Oct/begin Nov.