I'm getting some laying chickens for the first time I'm after some tips U.K

dantheman2017

Hatching
Mar 18, 2017
Hi I'm new to this I'm going to be getting som laying chickens in the next couple of weeks and Im after some advise I have a small family and want to be a little bit more self sufficient and save money were we can of course, I need advise on the what to put the ground as my garden is just fresh grass do I leave the grass in the run or put another material down inside the hen house what do I use on the floor as I'm from uk the weather can bit awful at times so I need somthin that's going to be ok and any other advise would be great I getting my hens from a local family run farm so reputable breeders thankyou for reading

Hi, so glad to hear you are getting chickens. Definitely a step in the right direction
big_smile.png

Depending on how many chickens you are getting you'll need different amounts of space in the coop. The minimum (and I totally mean the bare minimum) is about 2-3 square feet per chicken inside your run. But you also want to let the chickens outside of the run to get fresh grass , so you'll want closer to 8-10 square feet per chicken. If your garden is just fresh grass, that's fine, just be aware wherever you keep your chickens they'll likely destroy the grass. In the hen house, you can put down pine shavings. That has worked for me & makes it easy to clean out when it gets messy.

In your setup you'll want to make sure there's nest boxes, food, and water. You'll also want to close them in the hen house at night to keep it predator-proof. Some people advocate for a light source in the hen house, but that's up to you. Also make sure you're getting ventilation into the hen house so they're breathing fresh air.

Greetings, dantheman2017, and
welcome-byc.gif