Im in Ohio and I need nesting box

whistlin dixie

In the Brooder
12 Years
Apr 6, 2007
does anyone have any extras laying around or know what I can use as a nesting box, I have 6- 2 week old hens in my basement and Im trying to get thieir house together. I have zero experience with chickens I just know Im in love!

If they are 2 weeks old, you have another 16-18 weeks before they will be needing a nest box!
big_smile.png
You can make them if your handy with some plywood and 2x4's. Thats what we did. Here's our set up:

chicks4weeksold001.jpg

I've also heard of people using plastic milk crates, old dressor drawers, boxes, etc in a pinch. You can even buy them pre-made if you dont want to make them. Most feed supply stores carry them, or can order them.

A small dog or cat crate works too (take the door off). Someone here is using cardboard boxes--lay it on its side or cut one side to make an opening. When I moved mine to a coop from a tractor, I placed an egg sized rock in each nesting box so the girls knew what they were for.

Plywood works great, any cheap type will do. Just make sure if you put a top on your boxes that it’s slanted to keep them from roosting on top and making a horrid mess up there. I’d take a photo of mine and send it but it’s freezing out there today! I have also used milk crates. Attach the bottom to the wall and put straw inside, again put something in the way so they can’t get on top or cut one side off so it’s open on top.