Im looking for a duck

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by 19761, Dec 13, 2008.

1. 19761

19761 New Egg

Dec 13, 2008
    Illinois
    My backyard isn't that large (about 5 by 20) and i live in chicago illinois. I'm new to ducks and was wondering what breed would be best for me.
    If there is a breed that can live in my conditions. Can somebody please help? Thank you much!

2. Goat_Walker

Goat_Walker I Am THE Crazy Duck Lady

Jul 9, 2008
    Maryland
    Moscovies ( sp? ) Defiantly .

They are quite, so you dont have to worry about your neighbors getting upset, as well as dont really swim , so no need for a large pool for them ( they get water logged easily) as well as they are quite friendly as adults, not just while young. They dont become anti social with age like other ducks.

Plus they have those big gorgeous tails that they like to wag , so they look like cute little pups.. well to me anyway [​IMG]

3. muscovy94

muscovy94 Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 11, 2008
    Vicksburg, MS
    Yes i recommens muscovies too. I just love them. But make sure if you do to get their wings pinioned or cut every so often

4. nettie

nettie Enslaved by Indoor Ducks

Nov 20, 2008
    Chicago, IL
    motherducker,

I just recently moved to Al. from Chicago about 5 months ago... Beforwarned....

Ducks are ILLEGAL even in small numbers in the entire city of chicago... They also also illegal in the vast majority of the suburbs (i know tinley park/ orland/ palos is far enough out and they do allow it.)

I also know from personal experience that the cops/neighbors are ruthless about ducks as pets. If any offical city worker sees them, like meter readers, utility or cable people etc. sees them they will call the police and they will take away your ducks. I lived in Bridgeview (near Oaklawn) and almost had my duckies taken away... Luckily i got them about a week before i moved to alabama and they let me slide since i was leaving.