I'm Losing Eggs - Help Out a Newbie!

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by Melliebelle, Mar 6, 2008.

1. Melliebelle

Melliebelle New Egg

Sep 11, 2007
    Hi, all! I'm fairly new to this whole raising chickens in the backyard thing, so I hope you can help me. We have a pair of RIRs, and the hen has finally started laying. She had 5 eggs in her nest the other night. I went and checked tonight, and now we're down to three!

I'm sure it's a snake or something like that stealing the eggs - is there a way to prevent this? Her nest is a two-sided (top and side) wooden structure that my husband attached to the house. Inside this, we put one of those big plastic barrels full of straw for her to nest in, and we have a piece of plywood kinda leaned against the opening like a tent flap to keep off the cool air. Also, they're in my fenced-in backyard.

I don't have an incubator, or I would bring them in the house and hatch them myself. Is there a way to do this without having a "real" incubator?

Thanks in advance for any suggestions - I would love to have some baby chicks to add to our little flock!

2. Stormhorse23

Stormhorse23 Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 22, 2007
    Indiana
    Its too cold to let eggs sit outside where I am, could you hen be a egg eater? im not too knowledgeable on this subject, maybe someone will know something about this. sorry, im not sure.

3. MissPrissy

MissPrissy Overrun With Chickens Premium Member

May 7, 2007
    Forks, Virginia
    RIR's do not often go broody, especially hatchery hens. Just because they lay eggs doesn't mean they will hatch them. leaving eggs in the place where she lays them just encourages her to lay her eggs in that place. It doesn't mean she is going back and laying them there to brood.

One of your chickens is probably eating them I would say. Yes, they will eat the eggs. Once you get an egg eater it is hard to break.

Collect your eggs daily.