Im needing info from experienced hen owners. Please.

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by struttachic, May 25, 2016.

1. struttachic

struttachic New Egg

May 24, 2016
    Newnan Georgia
    Greetings. This is my first attempt raising chickens. Thus far the only Birds we have are parakeets and Amazons. Which are way different from these cute little chickadees. So my first question is we are building the coop and run this weekend. Our funds are (very) limited so keeping cost down Is a must.;-) Is there particular types of wood that should be used to withstand the elements? How wide should perches be? Are any building materials toxic to chickens? What type of metal protectant screening should we use? OK let's say we have the finished coop and run; What's next? Are we supposed to spread anything on coop floor? What about the nesting box, do we put hay (like they show in the cartoons lol:-D)? Also, our chicks are 4 weeks, our 7year old son talked us in to getting a couple of silkies that we pick up tomorrow. Im sure they're hatchlings. Are we supposed to keep them separated? Will the older ones attack/kill the newbies?Or how does that work?

2. BantamFan4Life

BantamFan4Life LOOK WHAT YOU MADE ME DO. Premium Member

Jun 15, 2012
    Washington
    My Coop
    Welcome to BYC! I'm glad you joined us! :)

1 person likes this.
  3. struttachic

struttachic New Egg

May 24, 2016
    Newnan Georgia
    Hey thank you.

4. drumstick diva

drumstick diva Still crazy after all these years. Premium Member

Aug 26, 2009
    Out to pasture