I'm new at this! Hen about to hatch her chicks....Hopefully

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by sweet-T, May 17, 2009.

1. sweet-T

sweet-T Out Of The Brooder

Apr 5, 2009
    So here I am at just about 21 days and I'm starting to worry that I might be doing something wrong! I have a hen that has been sitting on a clutch of mix n matched eggs (because the other hens were laying in her box...All were marked and monitored after that) and they should hatch any day. Here is my situation...I have 2 roosters and 7 hens in the coop. They are allowed to free range during the day but I have the option of keeping them in the coop or the "yard". The nesting box is about 2 feet off the ground. I tried moving the hen and eggs into a separate crate but she FREAKED out so I put her back! My questions are; is the box too high for the chicks? Are they in danger of hurting themselves? Should I worry about the other chickens? Should I separate mama and chicks from the flock after they hatch? What is the best course of action from here?
    Thanks for any advice you can offer!

2. damselfish

damselfish Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 8, 2008
    Southwest Missouri
    Someone will be along to answer you, I'm sure. Meanwhile, I know I've read on here that they will be fine in the nest box...chicks don't weigh much so when they fly/fall down the first time it apparently doesn't hurt them.

I haven't had a broody yet so can't help you on the rest. Good luck with your hatch!

[​IMG]

3. Ridgerunner

Ridgerunner Chicken Obsessed

Feb 2, 2009
    Northwest Arkansas
    Sounds like you were doing things right.

I've seen chicks get down from a 10 foot hay loft without hurting themselves. You are dealing with living things, so there is always a danger, but I think the odds are extremely low. You might pile up some litter or such under the nest a little just to give them a soft place to land.