I'm new at this.

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by LucynPecker, Oct 30, 2013.

1. LucynPecker

LucynPecker Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 30, 2013
    Athens, Tx
    A sweet sweet boy from across the road brought me a fully grown rooster. Hes a new addition to our family. Yesterday he brought me a beautiful black hen. Now my concern is...he said they have to match or he will hurt her, possibly kill her if I put them in the same cage. So now they are in separate cages sitting next to each other and checking eachother out. Will I ever be able to put them together? Should I? I'm building a small coop. Oh and of I let them out to range wont they run away? I have 2 acre front yard with 15 acre heavily wooded backyard. All primative.

2. Sterkfarm

Sterkfarm Out Of The Brooder

May 12, 2013
    Milton, ON
    I never let my birds out until they have lived in the coop for weeks, and are mature birds (laying eggs is my guidepost) I did it too early one year, and the roosters taught the hens to sleep in the trees. By October they had gone missing one by one, so never again!!
    Do you have a coop/barn/building for them lo live in? If so, let them get to know each other in the open. Also you probably want a few more girls for him so he doesn't 'pick' on the one you have. She will be bareback and featherless in no time. It depends on the roo, and the breed. Some are rougher than others. 4:1/5:1 hen to roo is probably pretty good. If you have room that is.

3. LucynPecker

Oct 30, 2013
    Athens, Tx
    Oh thanks!, I'm building them a pen about the size of a king size bed..lol ((I dont know my measurements well)) covered and part-enclosed. They are grown but shes not laying. Better find some more hens.

4. sumi

sumi Égalité Staff Member

Jun 28, 2011
    Rep of Ireland
    Welcome to BYC [​IMG] Glad you joined us!

5. Kelsie2290

Kelsie2290 True BYC Addict Premium Member

Feb 18, 2011
    Ohio
  6. LucynPecker

Oct 30, 2013
    Athens, Tx