I'm New, I'm New, and Don't Know What to Do!!!

Discussion in 'Feeding & Watering Your Flock' started by Greasydog26, Oct 10, 2012.

1. Greasydog26

Greasydog26 Chillin' With My Peeps

May 21, 2012
    West Virginia
    My Coop
    So, I'm new to the chicken scene and have a few questions that need to be cleared up and with all this chicken knowledge lying around I might as well use it! First question, should I keep food in both the coop and the run for the birds? Also, should I mix in grit and oyster shells or should I keep them both in seperate feeders, and can they be mixed together in one container? Got another one for ya, I know that chickens have a pecking order but my Dominequer and RIR won't hardly leave the other two younger birds alone. Is there something that I should do about this? Thanks for the help!!![​IMG]

2. nova022

nova022 Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 3, 2012
    Welcome to BYC!

I keep the feed in the coop and give the grit seperatelly. I would also give the oyster shell seperately but my flock isn't laying yet. I am sure there wiser people who have had chickens longer who will be along to help.

[​IMG]

1 person likes this.
  3. Ridgerunner

Ridgerunner Chicken Obsessed

Feb 2, 2009
    Northwest Arkansas
    There is usually no right way to do something with chickens where every other way is wrong. We keep them in many different conditions for different goals. Instead of one right way, there is the way we do things because that works for us. There are lots of other right ways.

First question, should I keep food in both the coop and the run for the birds?