I'm new to chicken raising! Roster not eating after being attacked

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by herrchickens, Jan 5, 2017.

1. herrchickens

herrchickens New Egg

Jan 5, 2017
    Hillsboro, OR
    I"m new and still learning so any help is appreciated! My baby rooster (Beeker) was attacked by another young dominant rooster and now he won't eat anymore. He won't even eat his favorite treat, bread. It's as if he's traumatized! I removed the dominant rooster to another area, but he's still so scared around the other chickens especially if they show their dominance to him. Any thoughts and tips on how to help him out of this funk. I really miss the old Beeker! Thank you in advanced!

2. redsoxs

redsoxs Chicken Obsessed

Jul 17, 2011
    North Central Kansas
    Greetings from Kansas, herrchicken, and :welcome! Pleased you joined our flock. Sorry about the traumatic experience your young fellow had. If it was me I'd isolate him completely for a couple days so he can get his confidence back. Then try re-introducing. Just my two cents...others may have additional thoughts. Also, if you want to chat with fellow OR chicken folks, find your state thread in this link: https://www.backyardchickens.com/f/26/where-am-i-where-are-you
    Best wishes and thanks for joining BYC! :)

3. herrchickens

herrchickens New Egg

Jan 5, 2017
    Hillsboro, OR
    Thank you! That's probably what I have to do. Most importantly, I need him to eat.

4. N F C

N F C Happy T-Day! Premium Member Project Manager

Dec 12, 2013
    Wyoming
    [​IMG]

Sorry to hear Beeker had a traumatic incident. He needs to stay hydrated at least so try some electrolytes in his water and maybe make up a mash of scrambled egg to keep his strength up.

Hope he regains his confidence soon.

5. Teila

Teila Bambrook Bantams Premium Member

G’Day from down under herrchickens [​IMG] Welcome!