Im new to chickens and dont know how to help my sick hen! Help!

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by cfarkas, Dec 6, 2012.

1. cfarkas

cfarkas Out Of The Brooder

Dec 5, 2012
    I have an approximately 9 month old salmon favorelle hen. A week ago I started to notice that her feathers (wings and tail) were drooping and she wasnt moving very much. She could walk around but she was very slow. She even let me pick her up which she has never done before. I immediatley quarantined her and she has been separated from the other 5 hens for the past week. She is very alert and normal looking. She makes a little noise when I bother her too much, she eats, and she drinks. However, I do have to pull the dishes to her so she can eat and drink laying down because she cannot walk. She will try to walk (if I make her) and uses her wings to help her but she just falls over. She CAN move her legs and push against my hands with them but she cant stand up. When she is laying down she keeps them tucked under her body. I have checked for injuries, external parasites, impacted eggs, runny eyes/ears, breathing issues and havent seen/felt/heard anything unusual. She has been going to the bathroom much less than normal. She has had one batch of VERY watery almost clear feces with a bit of green in it a few days ago. I did notice some shavings in that batch. Other than that her feces has been dark brown with a little white and is pasty (maybe once per day). None of the other chickens show any sympotoms of illness at this point. Any ideas on what this could be?

Just for the heck of it I started giving he an antibiotic...just in case. She is still seems alert and strong...except she cant keep her balance. Again she is going to the bathroom maybe once a day...very pasty/gritty and dark brown.

Does this sound familiar to anyone? Any ideas?

2. buckabucka

buckabucka Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 13, 2010
    Fairfield, Maine
    My Coop