I'm new to chickens and eggs! Please help!!!!

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by BantamBecka, Aug 16, 2010.

1. BantamBecka

BantamBecka New Egg

Aug 16, 2010
    Hello! I am so glad that I found this website! My family and I are new to chicken rearing and I have a few questions!

1. We bought a silkie chicken at a swap meet about three weeks ago- she previously lived with a male silkie and other females. The first week we had her she laid two eggs and ignored them. Then a couple of days ago she began laying more eggs, but this time she sits on them. Could they be fertile?

2. If they are fertile, will they die if she's not sitting on them all of the time? She sleeps on them and sits on them occasionally- I just peeked at her and now there are four eggs!

3. We also just bought a black silkie rooster. We would really love to have little silkie chicks! We just love our chickens! If we find out that her eggs are not fertile, then we would like to put both birds together and hope for the best- If they do turn out to be fertile how long do we have to wait before introducing the male to her?

4. How often can a silkie or any chicken for that matter lay a brood of fertilized eggs? Meaning- after the babies are old enough to eat and be on their own, how soon can we safely attempt to have her lay more fertilized eggs with our new chicken?

5. We also have a white rock female chicken and three rhode island reds two male one female ( they were raised together from babies)- the white rock chicken we have had for about two months- the other chickens are afraid of her! She lays eggs once in a while, but not every day-----is this normal?

Also, We were hoping to mate her with one of the rhode island males, but they won't go near her, she's mean! Will they ever mate? ( still waiting for the males to become sexually mature, no cock a doodle- doing yet- we've had them for 4 months).

Thank you so much for any help!!![​IMG]!

2. Ridgerunner