1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

I'm new to chickens.. breed/gender help please!

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by rmnancygirl, Dec 7, 2011.

1. rmnancygirl

rmnancygirl New Egg

Dec 7, 2011
    Hmm. Wanted some help with this but apparently can't post any pictures since I'm new. Will see if I'm allowed to after posting this...
    Yup, seemed to work- scroll down!

Last edited: Dec 7, 2011
  2. ChickiKat

ChickiKat Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 10, 2011
    Eastern Kansas
    Welcome and keep posting til you can upload pictures.... We will be glad to help you.

3. rmnancygirl

rmnancygirl New Egg

Dec 7, 2011
    Nb: edit 11/12/11 I just thought I'd number these to be consistent with the numbering on page 3. Which will not be the same as what people have posted on pages 1 and 2. Hope that's clear!

Hi
    Just got these 6 new additions to the family yesterday.
    [​IMG]
    They had been raised in a school classroom and I forgot to find out when they hatched so I'm not really sure how old they are, I think maybe 2 or 3 months?
    Also have no idea where the eggs came from at all so would appreciate any guesses as to the breed. I presume they were from the same hen but don't really know for sure- if they are are, and are different colours, does that mean they are basically mutts of some sort?
    Our cage is really too small for them all, so the roosters have to go and possibly another couple, leaving us with 2 or 3 chickens. I think 2 are roosters: [​IMG]
    {Chicken 2 from post #21, in photo above}
    [​IMG]
    {Chicken 4 from post #21, in photo above}
    but that is just a guess based on their comb size at the moment. But then I don't know if they are old enough to tell by that? The ones I think are girls are below:
    [​IMG]