1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

I'm new to chickens

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Chixlittel, Nov 20, 2014.

1. Chixlittel

Chixlittel Out Of The Brooder

Nov 20, 2014
    Midwest
    Hello. I got my chickens on sept 9 . I have 5 buff orpingtons, and 6 Rhode Island reds. I lost one buff at 4 days old. I live in Wisconsin, and we had a freak cold spell and I couldn't keep the brooder warm enough. It was horrible. She pasted up, and I did everything that I knew to do, but she died in my hands. I also almost lost a Rhode Island Red. She got constipated and thankfully my vet has chickens and she walked me thru what I needed to do. It was quite crazy. I had to put her in warm water, and massage her back end. But she pulled thru. So my chickens are 10 weeks old know. We are having very unseasonable weather here in Wisconsin. My husband still has not got the chicken coop finished. My chickens live in my basement, I want to move them out to our attached garage to get them use to the cold, but my garage is very cold. I know I'm Going to have to put the heat lamp on them again, but if I don't get them use to the cold, am I looking for trouble? I don't want to lose them. My husband was building me this really nice coop. I call it a chicken mansion. It just has taken a lot longer than expected. Then we got snow, now it's literally only 6 degrees out. I'm worried if I don't get them acclimated to the cold now, will they ever be use to it?

2. Michael OShay

Michael OShay Chicken Obsessed

May 14, 2014
    Montana