I'm new to it all!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by moomysooer, Jun 5, 2016.

1. moomysooer

moomysooer New Egg

Jun 5, 2016
    Clarksville
    Don't have coop or chickens yet! So, any advice is welcome. I'm in southern Indiana. Going to have backyard birds for eggs. Excited?

2. sumi

sumi Égalité Staff Member

Jun 28, 2011
    Rep of Ireland
    Welcome to BYC [​IMG] You've come to the right place to get started! Here is some places and things on site I recommend you check out:

Just about everything chicken related: https://www.backyardchickens.com/atype/1/Learning_Center

More about the different breeds: https://www.backyardchickens.com/products/category/chicken-breeds (This a dangerous section [​IMG])

Coops and housing plans (cheaper to build one yourself): https://www.backyardchickens.com/atype/2/Coops

Enjoy the site and keep us posted on your venture!

3. BantamFan4Life

BantamFan4Life LOOK WHAT YOU MADE ME DO. Premium Member

Jun 15, 2012
    Washington
    My Coop
    Welcome to BYC! I'm glad you joined us! :)

4. Cynthia12

Cynthia12 Always Grateful Premium Member

Apr 11, 2010
    Utah
    sumi has given you some great sites to check out!

[​IMG]

WELCOME!

5. Pork Pie Ken

Pork Pie Ken Monkey Business Premium Member

Jan 30, 2015
    Africa - near the equator
    Hi and welcome to BYC - you have some great advice already from Sumi, so I'll just say hello!

All the best
    CT

6. drumstick diva

drumstick diva Still crazy after all these years. Premium Member

Aug 26, 2009
    Out to pasture
    Hello and Welcome to the Backyard chickens flock.

7. cstronks

cstronks Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 12, 2013
    New Jersey
    Welcome to BYC! This is the perfect place to learn everything about chickens! Good luck!

8. moomysooer

moomysooer New Egg

Jun 5, 2016
    Clarksville
    Time flies! Chic's heading on 9 weeks! When do I start preparing nesting boxes and adding oyster shell to feed?
    Thanks.

9. CluckerCottage