im new to raising ducks, i have a question

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by BellLisamo, Feb 10, 2009.

1. BellLisamo

BellLisamo Diagnosed w/ Muscovitis

Feb 7, 2009
    Tombstone, AZ
    Forgive me here... but im new to raising ducks. I have 2 full grown ducks who i had since babies, but they were my hubbys i wasnt really involved. Now i bought two little ones, here they are....

[​IMG]

no idea what breed they are or what to do with them besides feed and water them and give them room to play outside during the day in a pen. I saw pics of the babys in the bath and was wondering if i could do this?!??!

Last edited by a moderator: Feb 10, 2009
  2. B. Saffles Farms

B. Saffles Farms Mr. Yappy Chickenizer

Nov 23, 2008
    Madisonville, TN
    Youre doing the right things. [​IMG] I would recommend a pan or tub big enough for them to get in and swim. They love that. [​IMG]

3. BellLisamo

Feb 7, 2009
    Tombstone, AZ
    i dont know how old these guys are, and i was reading that they shouldnt be able to get into water yet? no idea. but i dont care what they said

ill go with ones who raise ducks, like you all here!
    i cant wait to watch them swim.

4. ladybug4ut1

ladybug4ut1 Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 13, 2007
    Central Florida
    They look like they are just about 4 to 6 weeks old and i believe the yellow one is probably Pekin and the black one is cayuga. Those are just my guesses. the black one looks just like my babies. I raise cayugas.

5. BellLisamo

Feb 7, 2009
    Tombstone, AZ
    Quote:thank you!!!!

6. shelleyd2008

shelleyd2008 the bird is the word

Sep 14, 2008
    Adair Co., KY
    I would think they are more like 2-3 weeks old. I don't see any feathers, and my pekins are 7 weeks old and are fully feathered. My cayugas are 4 weeks old, and have feathers around their necks and on their tails and wings.

I agree, they do look like 1 pekin and 1 cayuga.