Im new to this "Chick Life"

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Megaears, Apr 18, 2012.

1. Megaears

Megaears Out Of The Brooder

Mar 27, 2012
    Thank goodness my friend turned me on to BYC! We have had our chicks since April 6 and 12th. The first two we got were two Buff Orpingtons and then the following week we got to Black Australorps. I can't stop talking chickens to my friends and I'm sure they are sick of it. Lol. One friend says "who knew the pet you would like would be chickens!" If that aint an understatment I don't know what is!! I love my pretty girls. The Orpingtons are actually both my daughters but I take care of them mostly. They named them "Biscuit" and "Crispy" and the two Australorps are "celia" and "gertie" (short for Gertrude). If my blackberry will ever load up my pics ill put them up.
    We haven't started the coop yet but hopefully by this weekend. They are currently in a dog cage and doing quite well in there but I look forward to having them out of my laundry room! Lol! If anyone has any advice send it my way.

Megan

2. Kevin565

Kevin565 Chicken Obsessed Premium Member

Dec 22, 2009
    [​IMG]. Love the names!

3. 4-H chicken mom

4-H chicken mom Overrun With Chickens

Aug 3, 2007
    Oberlin, OH
    Hi and :welcome from Ohio. So glad you joined. :thumbsup

4. Fierlin1182

Fierlin1182 powered-flight

Aug 26, 2011
    Hello and :welcome
    I'm glad you've been enjoying your chicks so far! I love the name Gertie, I used to have a goldfish named Gertie. :p Don't hesitate to ask any questions you might have, and enjoy the site! :D

5. weimarmama

weimarmama Overrun With Chickens

Jun 4, 2010
    Alabama
    My Coop
    [​IMG] & [​IMG] from Alabama. Glad you joined us.

6. Megaears

Mar 27, 2012
    Thank yall SO much for the warm welcome!

7. 1muttsfan

1muttsfan Overrun With Chickens

Mar 26, 2011
    Upper Peninsula Michigan
    Hi and welcome to BYC from northern Michigan :D

8. dreamer5577