Im new to this! I bought sex linked "pullets" but I think all are males!

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by srr013, Mar 8, 2013.

1. srr013

srr013 New Egg

Mar 8, 2013
    I bought 3 red and 3 black sex link pullets from TSC hoping to have laying hens. After doing some research online and observing their behavior, I think all of them are male :( . I know the black sex link with the white spot on the head means male (for sure 2 of my 3 black sex link). I got them Feb. 15th and they all are acting high strung. Please help me so I can know if my fear of having all 6 males is true![​IMG]

2. TravisE

TravisE Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 27, 2012
    fayette county wv
    i dont know about the blacks, but when you got the red sex links where they red or yellow collored? the red is female and yellow is male. that where sex link comes from. you can tell the sex of the chicks by the color. i have 4 red sex links that are almost a year old.
    hope this helps

3. srr013

srr013 New Egg

Mar 8, 2013
    Thanks for your help! Honestly, Im not sure if they were red or yellow as chicks. I believe they were more yellow with some red/brown on them. There were so many people wanting chicks the day I went that I just told the guy to grab 3 red and 3 black. I didnt even look in the troughs to see if there was a comparison. The chicks sign did say sex linked pullets and that was what I asked for. I was hoping maybe their sex could be determined by the way they are feathering off-white with brown in the chest/neck area. I do have a black sex link that is and was very distinguishable from the other two. Im not even sure if it is the same breed. It has been pretty light in color compared to the other two black chicks with the white spots on their heads.

4. TravisE

TravisE Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 27, 2012
    fayette county wv