Im new with questions

Discussion in 'Pigeons and Doves' started by Bryan C, Nov 28, 2012.

1. Bryan C

Bryan C Out Of The Brooder

Nov 28, 2012
    Hi BYC members. I'm new to BYC and I'm a teenager with a knack for animals. I wanted to know how big should a loft be for one pair of pigeons im thinking maybe some tumblers or rollers not entirely sure yet. I don't have a great budget and I just want to raise the pigeons for fun and to observe them because im trying to become a veterinarian. I just don't know how big i should start one pair or two pairs. Any advice would be gladly appreciated. Thank you for your time

2. Courtney R

Courtney R Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 10, 2012
    Florida
    [​IMG]& im only 12, but im bout to b 13, i wanna b a vet too :) But i thnk that u shood get two pairs of pigeons. The place should be big enough to walk inside, probably, and the base shood probably b 4ft by 5ft... but idk much bout that stuff... But Hope it turns out good[​IMG]

3. franciscreek

franciscreek Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 10, 2011
    Northern California
    Bryan,

If you are going to start with rollers or tumblers you could start with a smaller fly box. Something 4x4x2 or 3. Use a wire bottom and put it on legs. You can find several good examples on the web.

4. Bryan C

Nov 28, 2012
    Thank you for the advice. Are there any pigeons that are best for beginners?

5. Courtney R

Courtney R Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 10, 2012
    Florida
    im lost on that one... idk much bout that, but it depends on what u r raising then for

6. Whittni

Whittni Overrun With Chickens

Mar 26, 2011
    Southern Utah
    I started with three pairs of pigeons and by far I love my American Fantails the most - So much personality...but the "English Trumpeter Pigeons" seem like a really good start choice.

7. Bryan C

Nov 28, 2012