I'm new!! :)

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by jasonman218, Mar 2, 2015.

1. jasonman218

jasonman218 New Egg

Mar 2, 2015
    Hi Everyone! I'm PJ. And by the way, I don't take care of chickens.(Although I'd love to have a farm of my own). However I raise mealworms. :), I'm new to to the whole meal worm farming business. I'm from the Philippines. Meal worm farming here is virtually unheard of. I'm in need of your help folks I just bought 25,000 meal worms 1 month ago. Around 5000 of them (maybe more)died in the process of getting back to my humble abode. ATM, I have close to 2500 pupae's. Around 700 or so already hatched into beetles. I'm still waiting all of the worms, around 15,000 of them to pupate. Here are a few problems that I encountered along the way though. Worms: -The bins have lids and I punched in a lot of holes at the top. Main problem I'm having constant condensation inside the bin. I wipe them everyday but the moisture always returns. I think it has something to do with the humidity (its very humid here in the tropics) and the bins having lids. And the water building up inside the bins are becoming a nuisance and its basically ruining my substrate. ( Kills some of the worms in the process). I just wanted to know how I can fix this.
    Pupae: Is there a better way of sorting pupae besides picking them up? I've seen on some forums that a size 8 mesh could be used to filter them . Does it work 100%? Or is there a probability that some pupae fall through the mesh.?