1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

I'm starting to think we have a lot of roos... (Lots of pics)

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by catchthewind, Mar 30, 2011.

1. catchthewind

catchthewind Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 27, 2011
    Vancouver Island
    I am brand new to chickens as of a month ago, so certainly no expert, but I've been spending time on these forums (more than I'd care to admit) every day since we got our first chicks and I'm learning new things every day. That being said, I'm starting to feel like a lot more of our chicks than we thought are roos (considering we got most of them as older chicks). My husband thinks I might just be crazy/paranoid, since I'm really new, so I thought I'd post the pics here and see what you all thought. [​IMG] I have been reading through other threads here and it seems that a good head shot and a good full body shot are helpful for determining gender, but I couldn't get good body shots of them all. Some just won't stand still if I were to put them down. Please excuse the mess. I've given up on keeping the room even remotely clean until the chicks are all out of the house. The vacuum thanks me. [​IMG]

1. ~10 week old Lavender Orpington (There has been debate in a previous thread about these guys' age, but I'm sure it's accurate. The breeder warned me that her Lavender Orpingtons are extremely slow to mature and feather out. Regardless, it doesn't really matter to me anyway.)
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. ~10 week old Lavender Orpington
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

3. 6 week old EE (Roo? The pictures don't show it well, but he definitely has wattles. He's suddenly gotten a bit nasty the last couple of days too.)
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

4. 3-4 week old Austrolorp (Roo? He's suddenly developed red under his beak.)