I'm totally new to ducks -got a box of 3 at the auction What are they?

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by midget_farms, Aug 8, 2010.

1. midget_farms

midget_farms Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 15, 2008
    Dunlap Illinois
    Like I said - totally new to ducks. I've ordered the book! : )

Was at the auction & got a box of 3. I've wanted to try them out for a while but didn't want to buy 25 from a chick house & didn't want to start with full grown birds so I got lucky & found a box of 3.

It didn't say what type of duck they were though. Can anyone give me a guess?

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Thanks!

2. Bleenie

Bleenie Wyan-DO's

Maybe Rouen Mixes?

3. iamcuriositycat

iamcuriositycat Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 30, 2009
    Charlotte, NC
    Hard to tell as ducklings, especially from pictures, but I'm going to take a stab and say two of those appear to be either mallard or rouen (a large domesticated duck that otherwise looks like a mallard) and the other may be a cayuga or a black runner or perhaps even a black swede... does it stand up taller than the others?

Someone else may step in and tell us I've gotten it all wrong, but that's my best guess. They are beautiful--you're going to love them!

4. midget_farms

Apr 15, 2008
    Dunlap Illinois
    Thanks for the reply's. How does one get a mallard to domesticate? Aren't they wild birds?

The black one doesn't stand any taller than the others. I'm really just hoping one is a female! But if they are all male that just means I get to eat them![​IMG] as if my daughter would allow that!

5. iamcuriositycat

iamcuriositycat Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 30, 2009
    Charlotte, NC