1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Im worried.

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by youngchickgirl, Feb 3, 2014.

1. youngchickgirl

youngchickgirl Out Of The Brooder

Jan 28, 2014
    Dunlap Il
    Irs day 22. Still nothing. I see them wobbling occasionally, but no pips. Is it too dry in there? My incubator doesn't tell you the humidity level, but it says to add water to the second trough on day 18 and I did. I am about to like cry, its my first time incubating.

2. wren

wren Chillin' With My Peeps

May 27, 2007
    St Augustine, FL
    Just hold on! You are close! Don't open the incubator to get the first babies out because you will lose all the humidity and the other babies will get stuck. If they get stuck to their shells they will die without help. It may take days. Be patient!

3. youngchickgirl

Jan 28, 2014
    Dunlap Il
    Okay. None are piped but they are vibrating in there so is it a good idea to add water? Its comptetly dry. Should I wrap the eggs ok n a warm wet paper towel?

4. youngchickgirl

Jan 28, 2014
    Dunlap Il
    I ment is it ok to wrap them up in a warm towel

5. Kelsie2290

Kelsie2290 True BYC Addict Premium Member

Feb 18, 2011
    Ohio
    Hello :frow and Welcome To BYC! You might want to post on the Incubating and Hatching eggs forum about your hatch. https://www.backyardchickens.com/f/5/incubating-hatching-eggs But if your incubator is dry, I would quickly add water, if no eggs have pipped it shouldn't hurt them and you need to get the humidity up asap. Not sure why you want to wrap them in a towel?

6. BantamFan4Life

BantamFan4Life Out of the Woods Premium Member

Jun 15, 2012
    Washington
    Welcome to BYC!

7. cstronks

cstronks Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 12, 2013
    New Jersey