1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

imfo on getting started

Discussion in 'Quail' started by dmccann, Oct 19, 2011.

1. dmccann

dmccann Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 19, 2009
    darlington pa
    My Coop
    I was wondering how expensive it is to raise quail,what is the easiest breed ?What type of housing?Thx

2. Clay Valley Farmer

Clay Valley Farmer Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 7, 2010
    I am new to the quail thing but they are dead easy as far as farm enimals go.

They raise well on wire so a cage does well, if you want to give them more space it gets tricky though because they are flyers and will hurt them selves smashing into a ridgid covered run.

The corturnix are amazing in how quick they grow and start to produce eggs, should be able to start out with adult birds for about 5 bucks a piece and if you want to go with hatching eggs it is a very quick start up in 6 months you can literally go from a dozen hatching eggs to 100 plus birds if you wanted

3. dmccann

dmccann Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 19, 2009
    darlington pa
    My Coop
    Thx for the info

4. Stellar

Stellar The Quail Lady

Feb 6, 2010
    Tampa Bay
    Coturnix are pretty easy. They do eat a lot but as for housing, they are easy to maintain. Very addicting creatures of feather [​IMG]

5. bfrancis

bfrancis Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 30, 2010
    Okmulgee Co, Oklahoma