1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

IMMEDIATE ADVICE NEEDED

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by flockmaster, Jun 4, 2008.

1. flockmaster

flockmaster New Egg

Jun 4, 2008
    OK, first of all this is my first batch of chickens, i am a sheep farmer lol.

I was out doing chores today and I had a dead chick, one first one out of 30 cornish broilers. i didn't think too much of it since some natural deaths are common. however, upon closer examination i found several of the chicks have feathers missing and the beginnings of wounds on the lower neck/side area. i have no idea what this could be.

i went over to the where the layers are being brooded and found a similar case, only the wound is open and larger.

basic info: i have had the chicks for 6 days, and have had zero problems until now.

they are getting blue seal medicated chicks starter.

both sets of chicks (30 broilers and 15 layers) are in seperate 8x8 pens. one is in the chicken coop we made the other is in one of my barns. they are on pine shaving litter.

i am changing the water every day and the broilers are getting water soluble vitamins in their water.

does anyone have any idea what this could be? i don't know why they would be cannablizing one another, they have plenty of food/water/room. also, is there anything i can put on the wounds that would help? blue kote, i assume. I thought i would ask about idoine too since i have a boatload of it.

please help!!!

2. tricia

tricia Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 25, 2007
    West Central Wisconsin
    Is it possible to post a picture?

3. ncgnance

ncgnance Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 22, 2007
    Iredell County, NC