Immpacted Crop!! Hen laborious breathing, purplish face! HELP HELP!

The Chickens' Maid

Crowing
14 Years
May 2, 2009
CT
Our three+ year old hen has an impacted crop. There is something very hard, but pliable in there. She is breathing hard, and she has a purplish face. She was just dust bathing (the rooster was standing over here, which is different). She has been staying in a nesting box where she sleeps lately. This morning she was really agitated, like she was going to lay an egg. She hasn't laid for months. Her crop is being massaged now and she is being monitored. She still seems very active and alert. She is not happy about being held. PLEASE HELP ANYONE!!!

Last edited:
No access to a vet? In cases of respiratory distress a vet is really the best person to consult.

You may have a couple of problems- if an impacted crop you need to feel to see if it is grit or fibre as apposed to a sour crop. I have no experience with sour crop, but this is what worked for me when I dealt with fibrous crop and gritty crop

https://www.backyardchickens.com/web/viewblog.php?id=7693-sick-hen

The other issue is whether or not she is eggbound. If she is holding her tail down and is hunched, this may be the cause. If not, and if her vent is not pulsing, she may not be laying to lack of nutrition due to a crop problem. These are the most likely causes, but unless one sees and handles a hen, things can be missed. Her activity suggests she is dealing with a minor impaction. I aaume you have isolated her?

You are going to need to handle this hen again either way and may need a second person. Lowering the light will help, so perhaps at dusk, or you can cover the coop window or her cage to calm her.

Last edited:
Thanks for responding. She does seem to have a minor impaction. Whatever made her start breathing hard and turning purple, I have no idea. She is back to normal color now, but she does have a small wheeze. It's hard to hear unless you hold your ear right next to her beak.